The misadventures of a Mother and business owner.

My renewed obsession..

Leave a comment

I learned to crochet a long time ago. My grandmother used to crochet a lot and she taught me the basics. She was an amazing woman who I looked up to her a great deal and miss her everyday. I find that crocheting is a lot like meditating. For me it is a mind dump. I can stitch out all my feelings and thoughts and come out fresher on the other side. Much cheaper the therapy to.

I have been making blankets for the whole family. Hats, scarfs and even wash cloths. Lots and lots of wash cloths, lol. The are quick and easy to carry with you to pull out and work on when you have time. I have been loving working with the 100% cotton yarn. There are so many great colors and combinations to choose from. The wash cloths I have been making are very simple. Here is what I have been doing.

Sugar’n Cream 100% cotton yarn. Size H (5mm) hook. Gage not necessary. 

Row 1: Chain 31, single crochet into the second stitch from the hook and in each chain across. You should have 29 stitches. Row 2: Chain two, turn and single crochet into each stitch (29). Repeat                                      until you have 21 rows. Finishing: Weave in your end and you are done.                                 Simple but pretty and functional. 

I like the single crochet because it gives you fewer holes and a really nice look. It still works up quickly. They just have a nice feel. Hope you enjoy my short and sweet free pattern. I think you will enjoy making them as much as I do.

Author: onefelloffthecuckoosnest

Mother of three and loves everything crafty. I have been called a crazy chicken lady and I love it! Spend a lot of time in the garden and in the kitchen canning. Follow my crazy family and life.

Leave a Reply

