The misadventures of a Mother and business owner.

Frustration

Leave a comment

IMG_6456 Edited WEB

You always try to do the right thing, to do right by people. You have your little slice of the world and are content there. Then people, or their pets, come barging in.

So, now the back story. I live on two acres in Apex, NC. I own approx 50 chickens. Normal laying hens plus Orpington’s and other “nicer” breeds. I raise them for their eggs and their meat. I also sell the excess eggs to help cover their cost of living. My chickens stay in our yard, they don’t really venture outside of that space. We free range them during the day for obvious reasons. I say approx 50 because on any given day I don’t know if someone else’s dog will come into my yard and kill them. I have had this happen twice now. First time I lost 11 chickens. Was a chicken massacre all over my yard. Second time, which was yesterday, I lost 4. Only 4 because I saw the dogs out my window in time to go out and try to catch them.

People seem to have the mentality that they can do whatever they want and it doesn’t matter. If I hear the words “they are only chickens” one more time I might just explode. What if I killed their dogs and said “they are only dogs”. Do you think that would go over well? I think not. As a dog owner myself I understand that it is a dogs instinct to chase things that run. I understand that, I really do. But that fact does not make it ok for your dogs to come onto my property and kill my chickens.

The set of dogs from yesterday were hunting dogs. The owner was running rabbits, tracking collars and all. He admitted to animal control that his dog has chased chickens before. So why did he think that it was ok to run his dogs all over everyone else’s property? He made mention that chickens weren’t worth the eggs they laid. Well guess what? They are to me and my kids. There is a lot of time and money that goes into raising chickens. Granted they are cheaper then raising some other animals but that does not minimize the fact that it is not ok for your dogs to kill my chickens.

We are in the process of building a fence to keep out unwanted visitors, but it can’t seem to go up fast enough. So keep off my little slice of the world unless you are invited.

IMG_8651 Edited WEB

 

Author: onefelloffthecuckoosnest

Mother of three and loves everything crafty. I have been called a crazy chicken lady and I love it! Spend a lot of time in the garden and in the kitchen canning. Follow my crazy family and life.

Leave a Reply

