The misadventures of a Mother and business owner.

Honeysuckle is in bloom!

Leave a comment

Honeysuckle in bloom

Honeysuckle in bloom

Honeysuckle is in bloom so that means it is once again time to make honeysuckle jelly. Time consuming process but oh so good. The flowers themselves are quite beautiful and the smell is one of my favorites. It brings back memories of childhood, standing around sucking the nectar out of the flowers. I wish the blooms lasted longer, but this jelly allows to enjoy it all year-long.

The original recipe that I followed says that it should yield 7 half pints of jelly but I have never gotten that many. The batch I made today yielded 4.5 half pints. I will just refrigerate the half pint that was not full to use right away.

The most time-consuming part of the process is picking the flowers and removing the small green base from the flowers, once that is done it is rather easy. It is a quick process once the infusion is ready.

I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as we do. This is a jelly that you don’t see everyday, I find it tastes a lot like honey, it is one that will surely please.

Honeysuckle Jelly Recipe

 

 

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

Author: onefelloffthecuckoosnest

Mother of three and loves everything crafty. I have been called a crazy chicken lady and I love it! Spend a lot of time in the garden and in the kitchen canning. Follow my crazy family and life.

Leave a Reply

