The misadventures of a Mother and business owner.

Are we turning into urban farmers?

Leave a comment

Most of our friends think we are a little nuts, lol, but that is ok. Nothing tastes better than fresh eggs for breakfast, and they are so much better for you. We have 4 full-grown hens that we bought at the NC State Fair last year. Two La Fleche and two Minorca, they are all black with the prettiest feathers. I need to get some good pics of them so that I can post them. About two months ago we bought 6 new chicks and three ducklings. The chicks are a mix of White Leghorn and Rhode Island Red so they should be good layers. The ducks are  Rouen ducks, and well, we bought those because they were so stinkin cute. They are bred for meat but we are just keeping them for pets.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Yesterday we had to go to Tractor Supply for more chicken feed and of course we couldn’t walk out of there with out some cute little babies, lol. Talk about obsessed, they are just so adorable to me that I have to bring them home. We bought 4 Batam’s and two more ducks. Maybe one day soon we will actually get the chicken coop completed. I think hubby is going to stop taking me a long to the farm supply store, lol.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I am sure there will be many more photos to come. I just love these ladies and gents and they are so fun to photograph.

Author: onefelloffthecuckoosnest

Mother of three and loves everything crafty. I have been called a crazy chicken lady and I love it! Spend a lot of time in the garden and in the kitchen canning. Follow my crazy family and life.

Leave a Reply

