The misadventures of a Mother and business owner.

Going Handmade For Christmas?

Leave a comment

So I started thinking today that I should make some homemade gifts for my loved ones this Christmas. I started going through my patterns today to get some ideas and I think I have come up with a few. I also searched the free pattern section on You Can Make This and found a couple of ideas there. You can find the free patterns here, http://www.youcanmakethis.com/free-patterns, I actually sell a couple of patterns on You Can Make This. It is a great place to go find awesome patterns, free or paid.

Another pattern site I like is Gingercake, love their patterns and they are super easy to follow. Their website is http://www.gingercake.bigcartel.com/, I picked up two new patterns from their today. One for the On The Go Organizer and I can’t wait to make a few. They would be great for students to keep things together, great to keep kids busy coloring or writing in the car or restaurants or for Mom’s making their grocery lists. The possibilities are endless! I started pulling fabric out this afternoon but ran out of time to start cutting pieces. Had to go watch my son test for his first stripe on his orange belt, so super proud of him! I did get to read through the pattern, if you have a need for organizers this pattern is a great one. Check out the picture below, photo by Gingercake, and find the pattern here, http://www.gingercake.bigcartel.com/product/on-the-go-organizer-pdf-sewing-pattern. I also picked up the Annie’s Penguin pattern, http://www.gingercake.bigcartel.com/product/annie-s-penguin-pillow-pdf-sewing-pattern, I know a couple little ones who will be getting one of them this Christmas!

OTGO_title_2013

And who could forget Bit Of Whimsy Dolls?! Find her amazing patterns here, http://www.bitofwhimsydolls.com/. I have most of them and have made several, they are some of the best written patterns I have seen. I love following Sarah and she sells finished dolls as well, talk about adorable. If you don’t have time to sew up your own you can’t go wrong buying one, or several, from her. The only problem with Bit Of Whimsy Dolls is trying to figure out which patterns to buy. Sorry if this fuels your pattern buying addiction! I know I have one, but there could be worse things. 🙂

If you plan on going the homemade route this year I would love it if you shared your ideas. Maybe you can inspire me or someone else. Even if you can’t make homemade this year for Christmas you can still support homemade and you can also buy local. Support the small people and your neighbors. You don’t understand what a big difference it makes in someone’s life.

Also, we have my oldest daughter’s 15th birthday on Monday and Thanksgiving on Thursday, what a blessed week it will be. Love my family and look forward to spending time with a bunch of them. Hope to get a lot of sewing done as well. Just maybe?! 🙂

Author: onefelloffthecuckoosnest

Mother of three and loves everything crafty. I have been called a crazy chicken lady and I love it! Spend a lot of time in the garden and in the kitchen canning. Follow my crazy family and life.

Leave a Reply

