The misadventures of a Mother and business owner.

Is cursive writing a thing of the past?

3 Comments

1489_DOB_Alpha_BB_1_OUT

I read an interesting article on one of my local News websites dealing with cursive writing in NC schools. Apparently cursive writing will no longer be required learning in NC . This doesn’t appear to be a new issue. My 14-year-old daughter does not know how to write in cursive and it looks like the twins will not be learning it either. With a lot of what we do moving to computers there is not a need for it any longer.

Michael Smith, a communications professor at Campbell University, said there’s more to cursive than elegance, and he fears that students’ cognitive skills will be less developed without it. “It’s motor skills. It’s cognitive skills. It’s left to right. It’s interactive – you make those loops (and) one loop connects to another loop,” Smith said. “It leads to a higher order of thinking. One idea leads to another idea.”  Teachers say that there is simply not enough time in the day to fit it in. Their day is so jam-packed with what they are required to teach. Have you ever looked at the curriculum that your child is supposed to learn by the end of the year? It is astounding what they have to know to move to the next grade level. I never imagined my twins would have to be able to read by the end of the year, in Kindergarten, among the many other things they have to know.

There is something magical in cursive writing. The ebb and flow of it across the paper, it can be so elegant when written properly. I remember when I was small, I was so excited that I could write in cursive when I started kindergarten. I had an older sister so I picked it up early. I love my Mother’s hand writing and her signature. I wanted to be able to write just like her. Sad to see it go, hope it makes a comeback. What do you think?

See article here: http://www.wral.com/nc-schools-write-off-cursive-instruction/12035402/

Cursive writing for blog

Author: onefelloffthecuckoosnest

Mother of three and loves everything crafty. I have been called a crazy chicken lady and I love it! Spend a lot of time in the garden and in the kitchen canning. Follow my crazy family and life.

3 thoughts on “Is cursive writing a thing of the past?

  1. I can do both but I prefer printing. I write much faster with it. I agree that cursive when done right is very elegant. Years from now, I wonder if cursive will be like calligraphy.

  2. We learned cursive writing in Kindergarten but both my sons who are 16 and 14 have difficulty reading cursive writing! I feel sad too to see it go.

    Hi! Stopping by from Mom Bloggers Club. Great blog!
    Have a nice day!

Leave a Reply

